Roundup for Safety

RoundUp for Safety LogoFlathead Electric Cooperative developed the Roundup for Safety Program to help identify and fix safety hazards in our neighborhood by awarding grants to non-profit organizations to help pay for these life-safety projects throughout our entire service territory.

How does it work?

Roundup for Safety is a voluntary program funded by participating members who “round up” their monthly electric bill to the nearest dollar with the extra money going into a fund for community safety projects. The average cost for each participating member is only about $8 per year, yet it makes a huge impact on our community. Since 1997, the Roundup for Safety program has awarded more than $3,500,000 to organizations supporting over 1,000 projects.

Roundup your Bill

If you are a member of Flathead Electric not currently participating in Roundup for Safety, please sign up with the online Roundup for Safety Member Enrollment form or call  406-751-4483 to sign up.

Apply for a Grant

New Application Process: As of July 1, all applications for Roundup for Safety funds should be submitted online. Paper applications will no longer be accepted.

To apply for a Roundup for Safety grant to fund a local non-profit safety project, please complete our online application:

Apply for a Grant

Roundup for Safety Board

Roundup for Safety has a board of directors to evaluate applications and award grants. The Directors typically meet at the Co-op on the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m., but the meeting is subject to change to accommodate schedules, so if you are planning to attend, it’s best to call ahead.


District 1 – Columbia Falls to Essex

Kim Souther
District 2 – Lower Valley
Started in 2016

Gayle Maclaren
District 3 – Whitefish
Started in 2017

Teri Smiley
District 4 – Helena Flats
Started in 2017

Wayne Saverud
District 5 – North Kalispell
Started in 2006

Rex Harris
District 6 – West Valley
Started in 2013

Kyle Watterman
District 7 – South Kalispell
Started in 2016

Bill Leininger
District 8 – Bigfork
Started in 2017

Steven Lefever
District 9 – Director Libby
Started in 2017