Three seats on Flathead Electric Cooperative Board up for election

Three seats on Flathead Electric Co-op’s Board of Trustees are up for election this year. Potential candidates must be members of the Co-op and live in the district they seek election to represent. The nominating petition requires 25 signatures from Co-op members who also live in the candidate’s district. Nominating petitions with a photograph and biography (100 words or less) are due to the Co-op by February 22.

Trustee seats up for election are currently held by: Emery Smith (District 2-Lower Valley, Rollins, Cooke City, Elk Basin), Jay Downen (District 3-Whitefish, Big Mountain, Olney) and Alan Ruby (District 5-Kalispell, north of Hwy 2). A district map showing exact boundaries is available on the Flathead Electric website.

Candidates will have the opportunity to give a three-minute speech to the membership at the Annual Meeting on March 10. Ballots will go out March 9 for a mail-in election. For more information or to obtain a nominating petition, call 406-751-4444.