FEC Scholarship recipients announced

Flathead Electric Cooperative (FEC) is pleased to announce its 2021 Scholarship Program recipients. They recognize these students for their dedication, and hope this support helps them meet their educational goals.

FEC scholarships are funded by capital credit dollars that have gone unclaimed for five or more years, at which point state law allows FEC to use them for educational purposes in its service area, rather than going into the Montana general fund. Scholarship money must be used to attend an accredited post-secondary education institution in Montana.

A total of $119,500 has been awarded this year to the following students in the Co-op’s service territory:

Micah Dunham (Bigfork HS)

Juniper Johnson (Bigfork HS)

Emmalee Hellen (Columbia Falls HS)

McKenna Rensel (Columbia Falls HS)

Jasmine Borth (Flathead HS)

Madison Harris (Flathead HS)

Olivia McRae (Flathead HS)

Alexa Miller (Flathead HS)

Lark Olson (Flathead HS)

Seda Ramsay (Flathead HS)                                                                                        

Nicole Thatcher (Flathead HS)

Jordan Zarich (Flathead HS)

MacKenzie Baker (Glacier HS)

Ethan Brown (Glacier HS)

Kaylee Fritz (Glacier HS)

Benjamin Stotts (Glacier HS)

Jabin Turner (Glacier HS)

Karlie Williamson (Home School)

Colton Halvorson (Libby HS)

Maverick Owens (Libby HS)

Keilen Rausch (Libby HS)

Olivia Gilliam Smith (Libby HS)

Mia Mendoza (Whitefish HS)

Broderick Wold (Whitefish HS)

Makenna Woody (Whitefish HS)

Alex Durado (College Undergraduate)

Kari Inabnit (College Undergraduate)

Keeza Leavens (College Undergraduate)

Abigail Morgan (College Undergraduate)

Danielle Murray (College Undergraduate)

Wyatt Ploot (College Undergraduate)

Typically, FEC holds an essay contest and selects students to participate in an annual Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. When that event had to be cancelled, however, FEC opted to conduct a scholarship essay contest instead. The recipients of those scholarships are:

Whitney Bodily (Columbia Falls HS)

Kylie Munsinger (Flathead HS)

Jillian Wynne (Flathead HS)

Alexandra Houseworth (Glacier HS)

Bailey Mainolfi (Glacier HS)

Basin Electric Cooperative, one of FEC’s power suppliers, also awards scholarships to students in the Co-op’s service territory. Recipients of those dollars this year included:

Sally Weber (Libby HS)

Liv Wilson (College Undergraduate)

For more information on FEC’s scholarship program, visit www.flatheadelectric.com/scholarships.