2018 Trustee Election

Three Flathead Electric Cooperative Board of Trustee positions are up for election this year. Thank you in advance for participating in this important process. By doing so, you ensure that your Cooperative is working for you. Five names will be drawn from those voting to receive a $50 dinner certificate.

How to Vote

  1. Check your mail for your official ballot (mailed to all Flathead Electric Co-op members on March 9).
  2. Please vote for only one trustee per district by marking your ballot.
  3. Mail your completed ballot in the enclosed return envelope to JCCS, the auditing firm that will tabulate the votes. Please do not send or bring your ballot to the Flathead Electric Cooperative offices. Ballots must be received by JCCS by 5 p.m., March 29, 2018.

Lost ballot?

Replacement ballots can be requested in-person at the Flathead Electric Cooperative offices.


Members had an opportunity to hear from each candidate during the Co-op’s Annual Meeting on March 10. For members who were not able to attend to meeting, a video of the candidate introductions is available on this webpage.

Watch the Candidate Introductions >

Listed below are the candidates for each district:

District #2:

Emery Smith

Emery Smith

Flathead Electric rates continue to be among the lowest in the state and country. Our Rate Stabilization Plan has allowed us to keep rate hikes to a fraction of those imposed on FEC by Bonneville Power Administration, by spreading the increase out incrementally over several years. We’ve come a long way in the last 18 years. Let’s not change horses midstream. Please re-elect Emery Smith, District 2 Trustee so that we can continue our drive to provide safe, reliable, affordable power, protect members’ interests and keep members fully informed. For more information see www.fectrustee2.com.

Todd Wallace

I would be honored to represent you as a Trustee of Flathead Electric Cooperative. As one of the only businesses that touches the lives of nearly every person in our region, it is critical that Flathead Electric continue to provide reliable electricity at rates we can afford. As a trustee, I will contribute to the strategic vision, as well as help govern the activities of the Co-op, to ensure that it continues to benefit us all. I am excited to represent you and I pledge to put in the work necessary to serve you. I thank you for your vote.


District #3:

Jay DownenJay Downen

Jay Downen, now serving on the Board from Whitefish, has spent his professional career advocating for Electric Cooperatives and their consumers. He served as CEO and General Manager of Montana’s State Association of Electric and Telephone utilities, working to assure electric rates were free of unwarranted costs. At FEC he advocates for fiscal conservatism, supporting renewable energy sources – wind, solar, landfill gas, biomass, hydro – that keep our jobs, and power, at “home.” He has strongly supported FEC’s savings (rainy day fund) to protect against future rate spikes. Active in community affairs, he owns Last Mile Technologies.


District #5:

Alan RubyAlan Ruby

Alan Ruby has lived in Kalispell for 39 years with his wife and children. First elected to the FEC board in 2002, he has served as Secretary, Treasurer and Vice President. Owner of small businesses in the Flathead Valley (Alan’s Wallcovering, Hungry Horse Liquor Store and Hungry Horse Mini-Storage), Alan has diverse business experience and has served numerous organizations including church council, Glacier Assoc. Board, Flathead Co. Solid Waste Board, Daybreak Rotary and past President of Montana Electric Co-op Association. Alan is currently in the Leadership Montana Class, which is designed to seek statewide solutions through cooperation, collaboration and civility.